Resolution on the proposed legislative council in Odisha is likely to come in the coming assembly session, panel submits its report

BHUBANESWAR:  The panel on legislative council in Odisha submitted its report to Chief Minister Naveen Ptnaik on Friday after making a study of the Legislative Councils in Telengana and Bihar.

The details in the report are still in cover. Yet what have come out through sources is that Odisha will have a legislative council in line with that of Telengana. The state government is likely to bring a resolution on it in the monsoon session of the Assembly next month. The council will have 49 members in it through selection from eminent personalities from different fields in the society and also through nomination route.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in 2015 had constituted a special committee under Transport Minister Nrusingha Charan Sahu to make a studied report on the functioning of Legislative Councils in different states in the country for guidance to the constitution of one in Odisha.

Besides Nrusingh Charan Sahu being the head the committee comprised of Pramila Mallick, Manohar Randhari from BJD, Bhujabal Majhi from Congress and Nitish Gangdev from BJP. However Bhujabal Majhi and Nitish Gangdev had opted out from the assignment.

The pace at which work regarding the proposed legislative council is gathering speed it makes many believe that the CM is keen to see that the upper house of the Odisha legislative is formed by the 2019 general elections.

Opposition smells politics in the plan of legislative council which Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee President Niranjan Patnaik claims is a move by Naveen Patnaik to accommodate his disgruntled leaders.






Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.