Nine ruling party MLAs are made DPC chief

Utkal Reporter
Bhubaneswar|26 Jan 2016

Odisha government placed 9 of the MLAs from the ruling party at the top of District Planning Committees (DPC) on Monday by virtue of the new provisions in the Offices of Profit Act. On Jan 16 the state government had brought about due changes in the Act pertaining to office of profit making the MLAs eligible to head the DPCs.

As per the release issued from the CM’s office Balabhadra Majhi, MLA Lanjigarh has been appointed as the Chairman of the Kalahandi DPC while Susant Singh of Bhatli will head the Bargarh DPC.
Dhenkanal DPC will be chaired by Dr. Nrusingha Charan Sahoo of Parjang. Prasant Muduli has been appointed as the chairman of Jagatsinghpur DPC. He represents Balikuda- Ersma in the assembly. While Berhmpur MLA Dr.Ramesh Chandra Chaupattnaik has been made head of the Ganjam DPC Patana MLA Hrushikesh Naik will lead Keonjhar DPC.

Other three legislators Manohar Randharao of Nabarangpur, Sashi Bhushan Behera of Jaydev and Mahesh Sahoo of Parjang have been appointed chair man of Nabarangpur, Khurdha and Angul respectively.

The DPC chairpersons will be accorded the status of Minister of State (MoS).

On this new arrangement government claims it is to enhance the performance of the DPC s but critics find there being some plan.
They read it into as an exercise of the ruling party to rehabilitate its hostile MLAs.

See also  Kunduli gang rape and suicide case: NHRC intervenes, engages expert team to fetch report in 15 days

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.