Setback for BJP in the bypolls

bjp-flagThe bypoll outcome on Tuesday, for the Bharatiy Janata Party can be termed as all but pleasing even though its central leadership is out sounding that it is not the referendum against the Modi government in Delhi. But posting three wins of the four assembly seats at stake in Rajasthan its Congress head Sachin Pilot is animated to dub the outcome as against Vasundhara Raje and Narendra Modi. In Rajasthan BJP could win only the Kota assembly seat and lost weir, Nasirbad and Surajgarh seat to Congress just within four months of its landslide poll victory in May.
Uttarpradesh the ever -electorally significant state emerged to be equally disappointment for the BJP in the bypoll held on the 13th. Of the 11 assembly segments put on the fray BJP could retain only three and Samajwadi Party snatched away 8 seats from it. BJP’s ally Apna Dal lost the Rohaniya assembly seat that comes under Varanasi Parliament constiturncy of which Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the representative. The Charkhari seat vacated by Uma Bharati also went out of BJP’s hand. Such result charged SP spoke out it is a “fitting reply by the voters” to the “communal force.”
The poll outcome in Gujarat is not encouraging either for BJP even though it is 6-3 in favor of BJP. Given the party had registered a clean sweep victory in the parliament elections and all the 9 constituencies went to poll were with BJP before those were vacated as the sitting MLAs elected as MPs.
However BJP managed to win a seat in West Bengal after 15 years. With Dasirath Dakhin Seat went to BJP and the Prestigious Chowrangi lane to Trinmool Congress (TMC) BJP gaining ground in WB to challenge Mamata Banarjee.
In Assam BJP wrested the Silcher Seat from Congress .The remaining two seats –Lakhipur and Jamunamukh of the three went to poll, were retained by Congress and AIUDF respectively.Manu assembly seat went to (CPI) in Tripura amd TDP won the Nandigam in Andhra Pradesh.
By-elections were also held for three Lok Sabha seats — Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh, Vadodara in Gujarat, which had been vacated by Modi, and Medak in Telangana.

See also  Sardar Sarovar Dam completed after 56 years, Modi says, we did it

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.