Delhi election/AAP wins Delhi, makes it three in a row.

Delhi election/AAP wins Delhi, makes it three in a row.



Aam Admi Party (AAP) of Arvind Kejriwal registered a sweeping victory in the Delhi election held on the 8th of this month; the result is out today. Of the 70 seats of the Delhi assembly in the fray, AAP bagged 62 seats leaving BJP far behind to retain the power of the capital- state for the three successive terms.  BJP, the party ruling in the center, could manage to get only 8 seats, whereas Congress failed to open an account.

AAP has successfully retained its vote base of 54 percent intact against BJP’s aggressive campaigning on nationalism to register the astounding victory. The result showed BJP’s vote share increased marginally to 40 percent, and Congress’ dropped to a mere 4.3 percent. This collapse of congress is believed to have attributed significantly to the outcome against BJP.

Poll analysts believe AAP’s freebie schemes like subsidized electricity and water along with the free bus and metro ride paid off to bring Kejriwal back to power. On the contrary, BJP’s approach to voters with national issues failed to impress them.

See also  Nabakalebar Rath Yatra, 2015 to be promoted as International Tourism Event

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.