Delhi Election 2020: Polling on February 8, counting February 11.

Elections for the Delhi Assembly will take place on February 8, and the counting will be on February 11.

The election commission of India announced the dates of the electoral exercise to find the representative to the Delhi assembly as the current one concludes its term on February 22.

As per the announcement, notification for election will come on January 14, after which filing of nomination will go on till January 21. Options to withdraw nomination will open till January 24, following the scrutiny on January 22.

One crore and forty-six lakh voters will exercise their franchise on February 8 to constitute the new house.  The present house comprises of 67 members from AAP and 3 from BJP following the 2015 election. AAP is reigning on a one-sided win in 2015, but in the 2019 parliament election, BJP reversed the result in its favor by retaining all 7 seats.

In the 2015 assembly election AAP had garnered 54.3 percent of the vote share to win 67 seats. BJP could win only three seats with 32.2 percent vote share. Congress drew blank with 9.4 percent support.

But, BJP won 56.58 percent vote share that fetched it all the 7 Lok Sabha seats. AAP and Congress got 18 percent and 22.46 percent vote share respectively. Both the parties finished their campaign without any return in terms of the seat.

See also  India again takes down Pakistan in the second reply on the UNGA floor.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.